Book Prize

The Canadian Association of Slavists/Taylor and Francis Book Prize in Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies

The Canadian Association of Slavists’ Taylor and Francis Book Prize was established in 2014 and is sponsored by Taylor and Francis Publishers. It is awarded annually for the best academic book in Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies published in the previous calendar year by a Canadian author (citizen or permanent resident).

The book prize jury consists of three members chosen by the CAS executive. Nominations for the 2020 Book Prize competition are to be postmarked by or on 15 May 2020. The prize winner will be announced in an e-mail to CAS members and on the CAS/CSP website in September 2020. The winner receives a cash award of $500 CAD and recognition at the annual conference of the Canadian Association of Slavists.

Rules of eligibility

Rules of eligibility for the Canadian Association of Slavists/Taylor and Francis Book Prize competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (the book must have been published in 2019 to be eligible for the 2020 competition).
    • The book must be in the form of a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • Authors must be citizens or permanent residents of Canada.
    • The work must originally be published in French or English either in or outside Canada.
    • Works may deal with any aspect of Slavic, East European, or Eurasian Studies (languages, literatures, cinemas, cultures, visual arts, politics, history, etc.).
    • Textbooks in the strict sense of the word do not qualify, but a broad interpretive work of a major period or area qualifies.
    • Translations, bibliographies, reference works, edited volumes, and smaller works such as pamphlets are not eligible.

Nominating Instructions

Nomination for the prize can come from an author, a third party, or a publisher. There is no limit on the number of entries a publisher may submit.

Send an e-mail to the office of Canadian Slavonic Papers/Revue canadienne des slavistes ( to notify the Canadian Association of Slavists of your intent to nominate a publication for the CAS’ Taylor and Francis Book Prize. Please copy this e-mail to yourself as well.

Send one copy of the eligible monograph to each member of the book prize jury (write to us at to obtain their addresses). Submissions should be marked “The Canadian Association of Slavists’ Taylor and Francis Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received, please enclose with the copy mailed to a jury member a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope. Nominations must be postmarked by or on 15 May 2020 to be eligible for the 2020 competition.

It is the responsibility of the author (if s/he self-nominates), his/her nominator, or his/her publisher to send the books to the jury. Please note that books sent to members of the jury will not normally be returned once the competition is over. However, special arrangements to return a book may be made between a jury member and nominator after the competition ends.

2020 Jury

2020 Jury for the Canadian Association of Slavists’ Taylor and Francis Book Prize:

Dr. Oleksa Drachewych (Western University)

Dr. Alexey Golubev (University of Houston)

Dr. Kristy Ironside (McGill University)

Winner of the 2018 Prize

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2018 Canadian Association of Slavists/Taylor & Francis book prize. Dr. Lynne Viola’s book, Stalinist Perpetrators on Trial: Scenes from the Great Terror in Soviet Ukraine (Oxford University Press, 2017) is the winning entry. In the words of the report submitted by the book prize committee members: “Viola brings a new source base to the table by examining the trials of NKVD officers who participated in the purges but then became victims themselves. She handles this difficult material with skill and sensitivity. Her detailed archival work exposes the activities that took place in the NKVD interrogation rooms and execution chambers and her careful analysis sheds new light on discussions of “ordinary men” as perpetrators. Viola makes a creative venture through the challenging question of agency and responsibility, balancing the stories of individual lives with the impact of the broader context of the Great Terror and its aftermath.”

A roundtable discussing Lynne Viola’s prize-winning book was featured in CSP 61.2.

List of Past Book Prize Winners

2017: Max Bergholz, Violence as a Generative Force: Identity, Nationalism, and Memory in a Balkan Community (Cornell University Press).

2016: Myroslav Shkandrij, Ukrainian Nationalism: Politics, Ideology, and Literature, 1929-1956 (Yale University Press).

2015: Alan Barenberg, Gulag Town, Company Town: Forced Labor and its Legacy in Vorkuta (Yale University Press).

Close Menu